Go To: Site Map Go To: Home Go To: School Calendar Go To: Contact Go To: Site Search





dcps on tv


Spotlight on Dreams

Nine Teachers Selected as Princeton Scholars

As participants in the First Coast Scholars (FCS) program, nine Duval County Public Schools’ teachers were selected to participate in FCS’ Princeton University Teachers as Scholars Summer Experience.  The teachers—Mai Keisling, Lydia Kirkland, Robbie Knieberg, Johanna Layne, Mary Mcdougal, Madge Nanney, Kathy Poe, Kevin Sacerdote, and Myra Wright—will spend two weeks (July 9 – July 20) at Princeton University attending seminars taught by Princeton University instructors. 

The Princeton Scholars were selected from 20 candidates.  After participating in seminars, the teachers will create curriculum units and lesson plans to use in their classrooms next school year and to disseminate to other middle and high school teachers throughout the district through the Riverdeep program. 

The Princeton University Teachers as Scholars Summer Experience program costs approximately $3,000 per person, which includes the cost of registration for the two-week seminar, roundtrip travel, lodging, and meals.  To help defray costs for FCS, eight, generous Princeton University alumni donated $2,000 each to sponsor a FCS teacher.

FCS was formed in 2004 to provide Duval County teachers with an opportunity to deepen content knowledge by participating in scholarly seminars with College of Arts and Sciences university professors and develop a high-quality, research-based curriculum unit which will improve the academic performances of students throughout Northeast Florida.  Currently, FCS is open to middle and high school teachers only.  However, next year, FCS is hoping to open enrollment to elementary teachers, as well.

Congratulations to the following Princeton University Teachers as Scholars Summer Experience participants:

  • Mai Keisling—Paxon School for Advanced Studies
  • Lydia Kirkland—Terry Parker High School
  • Robbie Knieberg—Fletcher Middle School
  • Johanna Layne—Twin Lakes Academy Middle School
  • Mary Mcdougal—Love Grove Elementary
  • Madge Nanney—Mandarin Middle School
  • Kathy Poe—Fletcher Middle School
  • Kevin Sacerdote—Mandarin High School  
  • Myra Wright—Jefferson Davis Middle School
Go To: Legal Disclaimer Go To: Privacy Policy